Drivers are responsible for unrestrained passengers 16 years of age and younger. Additionally children under the age of 8 must ride in a booster car seat appropriate for their age weight and height.
All vehicle occupants must wear seat belts and children ages 8 and younger must be properly restrained in a car seat or booster seat.
Utah seat belt laws. If you or anyone in your vehicle aren t properly restrained you can be issued a 45 citation. Exceptions to utah seat belt laws. Also children should not share one belt system.
Utah car seat laws. Previously a person could only be issued a seat belt citation if s he had been pulled over for another violation. What to know about seat belt laws in utah under the motor vehicle safety belt usage act the operator of a motor vehicle is required to wear a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt even more every child under the age of 8 is required to be in a child restraint device such as a car seat.
The law was designed to protect utah s children. Once a child is 57 inches or taller they can begin to use a seat belt. Utah s primary seat belt law info card.
This is an immense responsibility. They should be able to naturally rest their back against the seat of the car and bend their knees over the edge of the seat. Utah seat belt laws are primary enforcement laws.
By utah law the driver of the vehicle is responsible to ensure all occupants in their vehicle are properly restrained by a seatbelt. The driver is legally responsible for any passenger who is 16 years old or younger. Seat belt laws in utah clearly state who is responsible for the passengers in the car.
Get this info on a printable card here. If you or anyone in your vehicle aren t properly restrained you can be issued a 45 citation. Most older children can sit in a seat belt after they are 4 9 tall.
Arrives at their destination safely. Utah seat belt laws require all vehicle occupants to wear a seat belt. Utah s seat belt law.
Drivers must ensure that all passengers ages 7 and younger are properly restrained in a safety seat or booster and children ages 8 and older are buckled up in a seat belt. Go here for a list of 2018 s top rated rear facing car seats. This applies to whether or not they are wearing a seat belt.
Remember seat belts save lives. All passengers must wear seat belts in all seating positions and children up to age 8 must be properly restrained in a car seat or booster seat. According to utah state law children must be in an appropriate child safety restraint until they can pass the seat belt fit test.
Hb79 seat belt law amendments effective may 12 2015 utah s seat belt law becomes a primary enforcement law and a person can be pulled over for not wearing his or her seat belt. Failure to wear safety belts and comparative fault in utah. Remember seat belts save lives.
Children younger than 8 years old must be in a child safety restraint. Drivers and passengers in vehicles must wear seat belts.